April 19, 2021

Football News 247

Get All the Latest Football News On the Hour 247

Bilbao faces being stripped of Euro 2020 hosting rights as Spanish FA says it is ‘impossible’ to have fans due to Covid rules

RFEF says it cannot predict fans will be able to enter the stadium due to strict coronavirus rules in the Basque region

The Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) has announced that it will be “impossible” to abide by the protocols put in place which would allow supporters to be in the Bilbao stadiums for the Euros this summer.

Bilbao’s San Mames are one of 12 stadiums slated to host games this summer when the Euro kicks off after being postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

RFEF said on Wednesday it believed it would not be able to host supporters despite UEFA’s requirement that supporters be allowed in all host stadiums.

What was said?

“It is not true that the RFEF agrees with the Basque government on these impossible sanitary conditions,” the statement said.

“Yesterday, all the requirements that the Basque government imposed for the public’s presence in the Euros were received and, from the first moment, they were made to see the impossibility of accepting the RFEF.

“The obligation to vaccinate 60% of the population in the Basque Country and the rest of Spain before June 14 is impossible to fulfill and will therefore end in the absence of the public.

“Therefore, the decision that UEFA takes once this document has been analyzed will not be the responsibility of the RFEF, as we have communicated it and we have declared it.

“The RFEF, based on the principle of equality and in defense of the place of Bilbao, will support this initiative of the Basque government, if these same conditions are also accepted in one of the other cities hosting the Euros, a question that we see today ‘hui. as improbable. “

What other cities are hosting Euro 2020?

Bilbao has been chosen to serve as Spain’s host city, with 11 other countries expected to host matches this summer.

England, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Azerbaijan, Russia, Hungary, Romania, Scotland, Ireland and Denmark will also host matches, with each country hosting three matches group stage and at least one round of 16 or quarter-finals match.

The quarter-finals will be held in Munich, Baku, St. Petersburg and Rome, while Wembley Stadium in London will host the semi-finals and finals.

As it stands, Bilbao is currently set to host Group E, along with Spain, Sweden, Poland and Slovakia, alongside Dublin, while also serving as host for an eighth final.

Further reading