April 19, 2021

Football News 247

Get All the Latest Football News On the Hour 247

AFC Champions League: FC Goa announce 28-man squad, Igor Angulo and Alberto Noguera miss out

Juan Ferrando has named Romeo Fernandes to FC Goa’s AFC Champions League squad …

Indian Super League (ISL) club FC Goa have announced a 28-member squad for their upcoming AFC Champions League (ACL) group stage matches.

Spain striker Igor Angulo, Golden Boot winner of the 2020-21 ISL season, and the league’s highest assist provider, Alberto Noguera, failed to make the cut. The four foreigners who nominated are Ivan Gonzalez, James Donachie, Jorge Ortiz and the skipper Edu Bedia.

Among the Indian players, Romeo Fernandes, who had been on trial with the Gaurs for a few months, has been named by head coach Juan Ferrando to the squad.

The Gaurs had won the right to represent India in the AFC Champions League after winning the Indian Super League (ISL) League Winners’ Shield in the 2019-20 season. They are also the very first Indian club to participate in Asia’s biggest club competition.

FC Goa have been placed in Group E of the competition alongside 2019-20 Persian Pro League champions Persepolis FC and 2019-20 Qatar Stars League finalist Al Rayyan. The fourth team in the group is Al-Wahda of the United Arab Emirates who beat Iraqi Al-Zawraa 2-1 in the play-offs in West Asia on Wednesday to secure the group stage spot.

Goa will host all Group E matches of the AFC Champions League, but they will be played behind closed doors due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. The Gaurs play their first game against Al-Rayyan on April 14.


Goalkeepers: Mohammad Nawaz, Naveen Kumar, Shubham Dhas, Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem

Defenders: Sanson Pereira, Seriton Fernandes, Leander D’Cunha, Iván González (Spain), Mohamed Ali, James Donachie (Australia), Aibanbha Dohling, Savior Gama, Adil Khan

Midfielders: Edu Bedia (Spain), Glan Martins, Princeton Rebello, Brandon Fernandes, Phrangki Buam, Redeem Tlang, Makan Winkle Chothe, Alexander Romario Jesuraj, Amarjit Singh Kiyam, Romeo Fernandes

Attackers: Jorge Ortiz (Spain), Devendra Murgaonkar, Ishan Pandita

Here is where you can watch FC Goa ACL matches.