Gareth Southgate picked a roster of 26 players for the World Cup qualifiers

The latest England squad has been released ahead of the upcoming international break.

The Three Lions will begin their qualifying campaign for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar in the last days of March.

They start by welcoming San Marino to Wembley before a trip to Albania. Finally, they will face Poland on their home turf.

Many players miss the team due to injury. Leicester City duo James Madison and Harvey Barnes have missed in recent weeks, while winger Jadon Sancho and Jack Grealish have missed.

First seed Jordan Pickford is regularly sidelined after being substituted early against Burnley, while Jordan Henderson and Joe Gomez remain absent in the long run.

Jesse Lingard got a call-up to the England national team after an impressive loan spell at West Ham United. John Stones and Luke Shaw are also back in the team.

Lingard regained his best in West Ham

The most notable figure omitted from the squad is Liverpool right-back Trent Alexander-Arnold. Southgate asserted that this was a decision based on his looks.

I don’t think he has played as well as he’s been in the last few years, Southgate said. James Pearce. “He’s a huge talent, and I’m sure he will play a big role for England in the future.”

Patrick Bamford missed too, after rumors that he was about to hand him his first phone call. The Leeds United player is the fifth highest goalscorer in the Premier League, scoring 13 goals.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Man United), Sam Johnston (West Bromwich Albion), Nick Pope (Burnley).

The Defenders: Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Connor Cody (Wolverhampton), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Reese James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Man United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Man United), John Stones (Man City) )), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Man City).

Midfielders: Judd Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Phil Foden (Man City), Jesse Lingard (West Ham), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Calvin Phillips (Leeds), Declan Rice (West Ham), James Ward-Prause (Southampton).

Attackers: Dominic Calvert Lewin (Everton), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Man United), Bocayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Ole Watkins (Aston Villa).

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *