European Super League: we are European football, they are not – UEFA members criticize breakaway clubs

All 55 UEFA member associations strongly condemned the plans for a separatist European Super League, saying of the 12 clubs involved: “We are European football. They are not”.

The reaction to the Super League, which was confirmed on Sunday after speculation escalated, has been almost universal in its vitriol.

Jurgen Klopp and Pep Guardiola are among those who have criticized proposals for an effective proximity competition with guaranteed membership for founding clubs, while Liverpool and Manchester City are among the dozen involved.

UEFA President Aleksandr Ceferin criticized a “shameful and self-serving proposal” when speaking to reporters on Monday and, at the federation’s 45th Ordinary Congress in Montreux, Switzerland, all members spoke out. denounced the “conspiratorial clubs”.

“The 55 member associations and participants in the UEFA Congress condemn the declaration of a so-called ‘Super League’,” a statement read. “The UEFA Congress is adamant that the closed ‘Super League’ goes against the very concept of what it is to be European: unified, open, united and based on sporting values.

“UEFA and its member associations believe in a truly European model based on open competitions, solidarity and redistribution to ensure the sustainability and development of the game for the benefit of all and the promotion of European values ​​and social results.

“The conspiratorial clubs clearly failed to see that their status today was not achieved in isolation, but rather part of a vibrant European system where large, medium and small clubs all contributed to success. and everyone’s losses.

“It is an affront to European values ​​and sporting merit for them to assume that they have the right to ‘separate’ and claim the legacy that each has built.

“UEFA, its member associations and all those who love football stand firm and will resist and fight strongly against this initiative of the owners of these clubs and their supporters to the greatest extent possible.

“We know, morally, what is at stake and we will protect football from a selfish clan that doesn’t care about the game. We are European football. They are not.”

The 14 Premier League clubs not invited to the Super League have voted “unanimously and vigorously” against the proposals and the English elite are considering “all possible actions” against Liverpool, City, Manchester United, Chelsea, Arsenal and Tottenham.

Elsewhere in the UEFA Congress, Nasser Al-Khelaifi and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge were ratified as representatives of the European Club Association after Paris Saint-Germain and Bayern Munich were not included in the initial deployment of the Super League.

Former Manchester United president David Gill has been re-elected to the UEFA Executive Committee, where La Liga president Javier Tebas will represent the European leagues.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *