May 16, 2021

Football News 247

Get All the Latest Football News On the Hour 247

Vipers v UPDF Match Report, 03/05/2021, Cup

Uganda Cup: Vipers SC book quarter-final spot after UPDF FC win

The Venoms advanced with an aggregate 4-2 victory over their Premier League rivals

Vipers FC advanced to the Uganda Cup quarter-finals despite a 1-1 draw in the second leg against UPDF FC on Monday at St Mary’s Stadium.

Bright Vuni scored the goal for the military side before Bobosi Byaruhanga scored from a direct corner to ensure the draw ended in a 1-1 draw. In the first leg, the Venoms won a 3-1 victory at Bombo Military Barracks.

Vuni scored against Vipers in the 10th minute and Byaruhanga would have equalized for the hosts three minutes later, but his effort nearly passed the bar.

Bernard Muwanga could have doubled the lead for the UPDF in the 15th minute but his header, on a well-executed corner, went wide. Byaruhanga leveled things off for the Vipers in the 23rd minute from a straight corner.

Halid Lwakliwa could have scored the second for the Venoms but his fierce shot was saved by UPDF goalkeeper Eric Kibowa.

Ceasar Manzoki failed to find the back of the net in the 33rd minute when he found himself in a good position but he exploded. The Venoms launched a clinical counterattack in the 60th minute but a final shot from Jamil Kalisa came out.

Fred Kajoba made two changes in the 65th minute when Paul Mucureezi and Najib Yiga replaced Allan Kayiwa and Kalisa. Lawrence Tezikya, Ibrahim Orit and Disan Galiwango took over from Manzoki, Karisa and Aziz Kayondo in the 72nd minute.

A combination between Orit and Tezikya almost produced a second goal for Vipers but the latter went straight into Kibowa’s hands. The draw 1-1 means the Vipers advanced to the next round with a total of 4-2.

Vipers SC XI: Fabien Mutombora, Halid Lwaliwa, Aziz Kayondo, Livingston Mulondo, Joseph Dhata, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Allan Kayiwa, Milton Karisa, Jamil Kalisa, Cesar Manzoki, Abram Ndugwa

Submarines: Bashir Ssekagya, Disan Galiwango, Lawrence Tezikya, Ibrahim Orit, Najib Yiga, Paul Mucureezi, Musa Ssali.

UPDF FC XI: Erick Kibowa, James Begisa, Isa Mubiru, Denis Ssekitoleko, Joseph Bright Vuni, Bernard Muwanga, Christopher Kawagu, Charles Ssebutinde, Davis Kasirye, Ezekiel Katende, Paul Ruben Kabuye.

Submarines: Yusuf Wasswa, Jessie Kajuba, Ivan Kato, Arafat Kakonge, Alex Kitata, Brian Kayanja, Sam Kintu.