Every PFA Multiplayer of the Year

Winning the PFA Player of the Year award is one of the highest individual awards on offer in English football. Voted by a jury of players, it’s the ultimate acknowledgment that you’ve reached the peak of the Premier League mountain.

Do you know what is better than winning it? win it Twice.

Only a select few have succeeded in doubling the PFA honor, so let’s see how they did it.

Winning years: 1988/89, 1990/1991

Hughes returned from Barcelona to Manchester United in 1988 for a club record fee of £1.8 million and promptly repaid that fee with a staggering 16 league goals.

United finished the campaign in 11th place, but Hughes’ individual success earned him the PFA honor in 1989, taking his second trophy just two years later.

Things went a little better for the Red Devils in 1990/91, when United lifted the European Cup Winners’ Cup and Hughes scored 21 goals in all competitions, taking another PFA honor.

Winning years: 1994/1995, 1996/1997

Calling Blackburn the league title with 34 goals, Alan Shearer would always have won the PFA Player of the Year award. easy things.

He spent another year at Ewood Park before moving to Newcastle for £15m, with Shearer becoming the first man to win the award with two different teams.

The 1996-1997 season saw Shearer score 25 goals in 31 games, taking the league’s top scorer list for the third consecutive year and claiming another individual title.

Winning years: 2002/03, 2003/04

The first man to succeed, Thierry Henry tortured the Premier League in the early 2000s, and the 2002/03 season was arguably the best singles season the Premier League had ever seen.

In 37 matches, Henry not only scored 24 goals, but also played 20 assists. It’s hard to hit double numbers in both stats, but hitting 20 in both stats is a different level.

Henry followed it up with 30 goals in the undefeated 2003/04 season for Arsenal, so his second PFA title was the least he deserved.

Winning years: 2006/07, 2007/08

2006/07 was the year Cristiano Ronaldo became The Cristiano Ronaldo we know today.

Going from superstardom to superstardom, Ronaldo broke the 20-goal barrier for the first time in his career and led United to their first Premier League title since 2003. He finished second to Kaka in the Ballon d’Or but there was nothing to stop him running the PFA.

Ronaldo went from strength to strength in 2007/2008. His 23 goals turned into 42, and his treasury of titles was starting to look a bit ridiculous. In addition to another PFA award, he won the FWA Player of the Year award, the UEFA Player of the Year award, the European Golden Boot, the Golden Ball award, and the FIFA World Player of the Year award. not bad.

Winning years: 2010/11, 2012/13

For Gareth Bale, it was all about 2010/11 who – which Hattrick against Inter. He was so good that it somehow propelled him to the PFA award, despite the fact that he only scored seven goals in 30 games.

Dimitar Berbatov and Carlos Tevez each scored 20 goals, Robin van Persie scored 18 and the great DJ Campbell scored 13. Where did he get the PFA award?

But his victory in the 2012/13 season was more justified.

21 goals guided Bale to win the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year awards as well as the FWA Footballer of the Year, making him the first man since Ronaldo to win all three in one season.

Winning Years: 2019/20, 2020/21

The double-winners list is finished by Kevin De Bruyne, whose place here is as controversial as Bale.

His 2019/20 season was ridiculous as De Bruyne escaped with 13 goals, 20 assists and a record number of opportunities created. He was the best player in the league and everyone was fine.

Unfortunately, his win in 2020/21 was not entirely good.

Nobody is suggesting he wasn’t good, but six goals and 12 assists didn’t quite set the world on fire. FWA Award winner Robin Dias and Tottenham Hotspur’s Harry Kane, who has led the league in both goals and assists, were expected to battle for the award, but the jury instead handed it over to De Bruyne again.

for moreTom Gott, follow himTwitter!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *